The winners in the national awards programme which recognises achievement in Scottish law have been revealed at a gala dinner held in Edinburgh last night.

The 20th annual Scottish Legal Awards, sponsored by 123 Medical Services, welcomed an audience of over 500 guests to the EICC for a celebration dinner and presentation of 16 highly competed awards which represent the breadth and depth of the legal sector in Scotland. 

Sairah Din, Managing Director of 123 Medical Services, commented;

“123 Medical Services are delighted to be a headline sponsor of the Scottish Legal Awards. This year's Scottish Legal Awards served as an encouraging reminder that the legal profession in Scotland is, in fact, of the finest calibre. The award serves as a reminder of the outstanding work being done by Scottish law and all its practitioners in serving their customers.

We want to congratulations all the finalist and winners for all their hard work!”

The ultimate award of the night, Firm of the Year, sponsored by Millar & Bryce, was presented to Thompson Solicitors following a series of high-profile winning campaigns and a successful strategic expansion into new areas of work.

The highly regarded Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to an in-house lawyer who has championed social inclusion and equal access to legal careers.   Donald Macdonald, the deputy general counsel for RBS Natwest Group, collected the award on the day of his retirement from the bank he joined as a trainee 33 years ago.

The other major individual award of the night was presented to Jennifer Young, the CEO of Ledingham Chalmers.  The leader of the north-east founded firm which now eight offices, collected Managing Partner of the Year, sponsored by 123 Medical Services.  

Lorna Jack, chair of the judging and former CEO of the Law Society of Scotland, commented:

“The Scottish Legal Awards has served a comforting reminder that the Scottish legal profession is indeed of the highest standard. Scottish law and its practitioners continue to shine brilliantly, serving their clients and their colleagues with the utmost dedication.  I extend my congratulations to all our contestants for their achievements, and I hope all the winners receive the recognition they deserve.”

The awards continue to support the LawScot Foundation which supports students pursuing a career in law and It’s Good 2 Give, a small charity that supports young cancer patients and their families.


Full List of Winners:

Firm of the Year sponsored by Millar & Bryce

WINNER: Thompsons Solicitors Scotland


Digby Brown Solicitors

MBM Commercial

Neilsons Solicitors and Estate Agents


Lifetime Achievement Award sponsored by The Times

Donald Macdonald


Managing Partner of the Year sponsored by 123 Medical Services

Jennifer Young, Managing Partner at Ledingham Chalmers Solicitors


Community Contribution Award sponsored by Frasia Wright Associates

WINNER: Mediation Clinic at University of Strathclyde

WINNER: Digby Brown Solicitors


Allan McDougall Solicitors

Berlow Rahman Hassan

Casus Omissus; The Aberdeen Law Project

Clan Childlaw

Clarity Simplicity



Jackson Boyd Lawyers

Neilsons Solicitors and Estate Agents


Legal Technology Award

WINNER: Amiqus




Scottish Water


Excellence in Client Care sponsored by Frenkel Topping




Clarity Simplicity

Jamieson Law

Neilsons Solicitors and Estate Agents


Support Team of the Year

WINNER: Cashroom


Clarity Simplicity

Hey Legal

Moore Legal Technology


Residential Property Team of the Year sponsored by Property Searches Scotland

WINNER: Neilsons Solicitors and Estate Agents


Macleod & MacCallum



Family Law or Private Client Team of the Year

WINNER: Blackadders


Livingstone Brown

Macnabs - Family Team

Macnabs - Private Client Team


Litigation Team of the Year sponsored by 123 Medical Services

WINNER: Digby Brown Solicitors


Aberdein Considine

Allan McDougall Solicitors

Gilson Gray


Employment Law Team of the Year

WINNER: Shoosmiths


Miller Samuel Hill Brown


In House Legal Team of the Year



Scottish Water



Criminal Defence Firm of the Year

WINNER: Duncan and McConnell Solicitors


Livingstone Brown


In-House Lawyer of the Year

WINNER: Rosalind McInnes, BBC Scotland


Sarah Drummond, BayWa r.e. UK


Rising Star of the Year sponsored by Registers of Scotland

WINNER: Susan Currie, Blackadders


Dr Sarah Cunningham Munro, Livingstone Brown

Haseeb Hassan, Berlow Rahman Hassan

Laura MacSporran, Miller Samuel Hill Brown

Siobhan Brown, Clarity Simplicity


Lawyer of the Year sponsored by Law Society of Scotland

WINNER: Elizabeth Rose, L&M MediLaw


Andy Sirel, JustRight Scotland

Patrick McGuire, Thompsons Solicitors Scotland

Stuart Munro, Livingstone Brown