The achievements of the Scottish legal profession have been highlighted as finalists in the national awards programme for the profession are announced today.

The Scottish Legal Awards celebrates its 20th anniversary this year and judges have identified 12 individuals and 33 teams from 36 Scottish firms and companies which they have selected as finalists.   

The decisions have been reached following a nominations process which reviewed entries from over 60 organisations from across Scotland.

Chair of the Scottish Legal Awards judging panel and former CEO of the Law Society of Scotland, Lorna Jack, commented;

“The purpose of the Scottish Legal Awards is to honour Scotland's leading legal teams, and individuals who work across a diverse profession which truly deserves recognition for some outstanding work.   Working with colleagues on the judging panel, we have been impressed by the strength and depth of the profession.  Entries have demonstrated excellence in a wide spectrum of activity during a year of historic cases and ongoing innovation to help clients.

The fact that the finalists not only excelled in their respective fields over the year, but also won over the judges with their insightful and in-depth applications, should fill them with great pride.  We wish everyone boundless success and look forward to celebrating the great accomplishments in the Scottish legal profession at the 20th anniversary of the Scottish Legal Awards in September.”

In addition to today’s finalists, two unique awards will also be presented at the panel’s discretion and these are Managing Partner of the Year and the Lifetime Achievement Award sponsored by The Times. Both recipients will be announced on the evening of the awards dinner.

The awards raise funds for two nominated charities; LawScot Foundation, which supports students in pursuing a career in law and It’s Good 2 Give, which supports young cancer patients and their families in Scotland.

The Awards also receive commercial sponsorship from The Law Society of Scotland, Property Searches Scotland, Frasia Wright Associates, Frenkel Topping, Registers of Scotland, Miller and Bryce, The Times and The Cashroom.

The 2023 Scottish Legal Awards judging panel can be found HERE.

The 20th annual Scottish Legal Awards celebration dinner takes place on Friday 29 September 2023 at the EICC, Edinburgh. To book a table visit our website HERE.


Finalists 2023:


Community Contribution Award, Sponsored by Frasia Wright Associates

Allan McDougall Solicitors

Berlow Rahman Hassan

Casus Omissus; The Aberdeen Law Project

Clan Childlaw

Clarity Simplicity


Digby Brown Solicitors


Jackson Boyd Lawyers

Mediation Clinic at University of Strathclyde

Neilsons Solicitors and Estate Agents


Support Team of the Year

Hey Legal

Moore Legal Technology

Clarity Simplicity



Legal Technology Award

Scottish Water





Rising Star of the Year, Sponsored by Registers of Scotland

Dr Sarah Cunningham Munro, Livingstone Brown

Haseeb Hassan, Berlow Rahman Hassan

Laura MacSporran, Miller Samuel Hill Brown

Siobhan Brown, Clarity Simplicity

Susan Currie, Blackadders


Employment Law Team of the Year

Miller Samuel Hill Brown



Excellence in Client Care


Clarity Simplicity

Jamieson Law

L&M MediLaw

Neilsons Solicitors and Estate Agents


In-House Lawyer of the Year

Rosalind McInnes, BBC Scotland

Sarah Drummond, BayWa r.e. UK


In-House Legal Team of the Year


Scottish Water



Family Law or Private Client Team of the Year


Livingstone Brown

Macnabs - Family Team

Macnabs - Private Client Team


Litigation Team of the Year, Sponsored by Frenkel Topping

Aberdein Considine

Allan McDougall Solicitors

Digby Brown Solicitors

Gilson Gray


Residential Property Team of the Year, Sponsored by Property Searches Scotland

Macleod & MacCallum


Neilsons Solicitors and Estate Agents


Criminal Defence Team of the Year

Duncan and McConnell Solicitors

Livingstone Brown


Lawyer of the Year, Sponsored by The Law Society of Scotland

Andy Sirel, JustRight Scotland

Elizabeth Rose, L&M MediLaw

Patrick McGuire, Thompsons Solicitors Scotland

Stuart Munro, Livingstone Brown


Firm of the Year, Sponsored by Millar & Bryce

Digby Brown Solicitors

MBM Commercial

Neilsons Solicitors and Estate Agents

Thompsons Solicitors Scotland