The finalists in the national competition which celebrates excellence in Scottish law, have been announced following a busy year for the country’s legal sector.

The 19th annual Scottish Legal Awards have revealed the individuals and teams which have progressed to the finals stage following the detailed assessment of entries in the competition’s 16 categories. 

The highly regarded judging panel, chaired by Lorna Jack, met last month to assess entries received from firms and companies across Scotland.  Following a robust debate, 35 firms, 13 individuals and 24 teams have been shortlisted in yet another strong year for the independent competition.

Chair of the judging panel, Lorna Jack, commented;

“This year's entries have demonstrated the strength and resilience of the Scottish legal sector.   In a year of extreme challenges, we have seen continued innovation to support clients and examples of excellence across the breadth of the Scottish legal profession.   

On behalf of the judging panel, very many congratulations to the finalists and I look forward to celebrating with everyone in September.”

A record high number of eight firms are in the running for the top award this year, The Firm of the Year award sponsored by iManage.  They are Aamer Anwar & Co; Digby Brown Solicitors; DLA Piper LLP; Livingstone Brown; Innes & MacKay; MacRoberts LLP; Neilsons Solicitors and Estate Agents and TLT LLP.

Two highly coveted awards, decided at the discretion of the panel, will also be presented at the annual awards ceremony; the Lifetime Achievement Award sponsored by The Times and the Managing Partner of the Year sponsored by Scott + Co.  Both recipients will be announced before the event.

The winners in all other awards will be revealed at the annual black-tie awards ceremony which takes place on Thursday 22 September 2022 at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, Cambridge Street, Glasgow.

The awards raise funds for two nominated charities; LawScot Foundation, which supports students in pursuing a career in law and It’s Good 2 Give, which supports young cancer patients and their families in Scotland.

The Awards also receive commercial sponsorship from Frasia Wright Associates, Scott + Co, iManage, The Law Society of Scotland, Denovo, Property Searches Scotland, The Cashroom, Westcor International, Frenkel Topping, Cancer Research UK, Registers of Scotland and Millar and Bryce.



Firm of the Year sponsored by iManage

Aamer Anwar & Co

Digby Brown Solicitors


Livingstone Brown

Innes & MacKay

MacRoberts LLP

Neilsons Solicitors and Estate Agents



Lawyer of the Year sponsored by The Law Society of Scotland 

Aamer Anwar, Aamer Anwar & Co

Barbara Jamieson, Jamieson Law

Gillian Jamieson, Anderson Strathern

Kim Leslie, Digby Brown Solicitors

Laura Connor, Thompsons Solicitors


In House Legal Team

Aberdeen City Council



Employment Law Team of the Year

Blackadders LLP

Burness Paull

Thompsons Solicitors


Excellence in Client Care sponsored by Property Searches Scotland


Jamieson Law

Neilsons Solicitors and Estate Agents

Road Traffic Accident Law (Scotland) LLP


Support Team of the Year


Hey Legal

Moore Legal Technology

Property Searches Scotland

Shepherd and Wedderburn LLP

The Cashroom


Criminal Defence Firm of the Year sponsored by Denovo

Aamer Anwar & Co

Keegan Smith Defence Lawyers

Livingstone Brown

Scullion LAW


Legal Technology Award

Denovo Business Intelligence

Shepherd and Wedderburn LLP


SnapDragon Monitoring

The Cashroom


Residential Property Team of the Year sponsored by Property Searches Scotland

McDougall McQueen

Neilsons Solicitors and Estate Agents


Community Contribution Award sponsored by Frasia Wright Associates


JustRight Scotland

Mediation Clinic at University of Strathclyde

Munro & Noble Solicitors


Litigation Team of the Year sponsored by Frenkel Topping

Balfour + Manson

DAC Beachcroft

Digby Brown Solicitors (Non-Accidental Department)

Digby Brown Solicitors (Serious Injury Department);

Thompsons Solicitors

Lefevres (Scotland) Ltd


Family Law or Private Client Team of the Year sponsored by Cancer Research UK

Livingstone Brown

Macnabs Family Law Team

Macnabs Private Client Team

Scullion LAW


Rising Star of the Year sponsored by Registers of Scotland

Aidan Tuohy, Neilsons Solicitors and Estate Agents

Ciara Young, Clarity Simplicity Ltd

Laura McCarthy, Munro & Noble Solicitors


Paralegal of the Year sponsored by Millar & Bryce

Lorna McDowall, Balfour+Manson

Rhiannon Spear, Aamer Anwar & Co